About the Melanie Klein Trust

What is the Melanie Klein Trust?

The Melanie Klein Trust was founded on 1st February 1955, to promote training and research in the psychoanalytic theory and technique adopted and practised by Melanie Klein, and ‘developments thereof’.

It is a charitable trust registered with the Charity Commissioners (Reg. No. 251672).

Our aims

The primary objects of the Melanie Klein Trust are:

Black and white photograph showing Melanie Klein in 1957, seated in a living room, smiling
Melanie Klein in 1957.
  • To further and promote training and research in psychoanalytic theory and technique as adopted, developed and practised by Melanie Klein and ‘developments thereof’.
  • To publish, promote and encourage the publication of books, articles, pamphlets, and papers which are based upon or may further the contributions to psychoanalytic theory and technique made by Melanie Klein.
  • To promote clinical work in psychoanalysis based upon the theory and and technique of Melanie Klein.
  • Generally to secure the furtherance and development of theory and technique of psychoanalysis adopted, developed and practised by Melanie Klein.
  • To do all this in any part of the world.

Our activities

The Trust gives support to psychoanalytic education; it encourages authors to publish and supports those developing new ideas; it organises conferences and arranges for books to be published; it takes care of the Melanie Klein Archive in which it encourages historical research.


One of the major tasks of the Trust is to make available Melanie Klein’s own texts; to this end the Trust edited and promoted the publication of a four- volume edition, first published by The Institute of Psychoanalysis and the Hogarth Press in 1975. Currently these are available in Vintage Paperbacks in the UK and the four titles have been translated into seventeen languages.

Black and white photo of a close up of Melanie Klein's hand writing on a notepad

The Trust Fund was founded with the possession of the copyright of New Directions in Psycho-Analysis and it also owns the copyright of Developments in Psycho-Analysis by Melanie Klein, Paula Heimann, Susan Isaacs and Joan Riviere. Various books, including Introduction to the Work of Melanie Klein by Hanna Segal, have been published under the auspices of the Melanie Klein Trust.

The Trust has produced or supported in conjunction with different publishers a number of books for which it holds the copyright: the two volumes of Melanie Klein Today, edited by Elizabeth Spillius, The Oedipus Complex Today by Ronald Britton, Michael Feldman and Edna O’Shaughnessy, and The Inner World and Joan Riviere edited by Athol Hughes. There are translated editions of many other books sponsored by the Trust.

Several books published in the New Library of Psychoanalysis of the Institute of Psychoanalysis, London were assisted by the Trust, such as Clinical Lectures in Klein and Bion, edited by Robin Anderson. It has also given support and financial help to individual authors whose writing has been considered important for the development of Kleinian thought.


The Trust has subsidised a number of translations from English into other languages, and from other languages into English. Among notable examples are the six-volume German edition of Melanie Klein’s work, and the translation of Claudia Frank’s Melanie Klein’s erste Kinderanalysen, a study of Klein’s early analyses of children in Berlin, published by Karnac. The Trust also cooperated with the Anna Freud Centre to subsidise the translation from French of A History of Child Psychoanalysis by Claudine and Pierre Geissmann, published in the New Library of Psychoanalysis in 1998.


The Trust cooperates with psychoanalytic groups in the UK and abroad in organising and supporting conferences, seminars and other teaching activities.

The Rita Frankiel Bequest

Rita Frankiel was a distinguished analyst of children and adults in New York. When she died in 2007, she left a generous bequest to the Melanie Klein Trust, with the purpose of furthering understanding in the United States of Kleinian analysis.

Photograph of Rita Frankiel
Rita Frankiel

Frankiel and her husband Roy Schafer had discovered the work of Klein through clinical discussions with Betty Joseph, Michael Feldman, John Steiner, Elizabeth Spillius and other Kleinian analysts from London.

Frankiel found Klein’s approach to patients very helpful clinically, and wanted to establish a link between British Kleinian analysts and analytic candidates, and recently qualified analysts in the States.

The Trust set up a link whereby two British analysts, in liaison with training analysts in America, visited the States twice yearly. Penelope Garvey went to Washington DC, where about ten recently qualified and about-to-qualify analysts presented cases for group discussion; and Richard Rusbridger visited New Haven and New York, where a group of sixteen presented their work and read papers by Kleinian analysts. The New York/New Haven group ran for three years.

From 2016, there has been a second three-year programme of meetings with a group of eighteen analysts and senior candidates from New York and New Haven. Richard Rusbridger visits twice a year and, in between these visits, the group meets with two American training analysts, Kay Long and Lynne Zeavin.


For some years the Trust organised, jointly with University College London, a number of successful conferences. The Trust now organises bi-annual conferences on topics connected with current developments of Klein’s work. A limited number of bursaries are available to help analysts attend Kleinian conferences. For further information contact Mary Block at the Melanie Klein Trust: kleintrust@aol.com


Melanie Klein left her papers to the Trust in her will. This became the Trust’s Melanie Klein Archive. Since her death, the Trustees have done some research and added to the original collection, and will continue to do so. For technical reasons connected with preservation and organisation of the material, the Archive was put into the care of the Wellcome Trust’s library, but copyright and right of access remain with the Melanie Klein Trust.

Dr Jane Milton is Honorary Archivist for the Trust, a role previously held by Elizabeth Spillius. Access to the archive is granted to all bona fide researchers, and many archive materials are now also available to explore online, as part of the Wellcome Library‘s digitisation of its collections.

Management of the Trust

The Trust is managed by the Trustees, who at present are:

  • Michael Feldman (Chair)
  • Richard Rusbridger (Hon. Sec.)
  • John Steiner (Hon. Treasurer)
  • Ronald Britton
  • Catalina Bronstein (July 2015 – on sabbatical as a Trustee during her term as President Elect and President of the British Psychoanalytic Society)
  • Gigliola Fornari Spoto
  • Edna O’Shaughnessy
  • Priscilla Roth
  • David Taylor

Jane Milton is the Honorary Archivist.

The Trust’s history

In March 1952 a special issue of The International Journal of Psycho-Analysis was dedicated to Melanie Klein to mark her 70th birthday. These papers became the basis for a book, New Directions in Psycho-Analysis, and the authors donated their copyrights to found the Trust Fund. They were: Paula Heimann, Clifford Scott, Gwen Evans, Marion Milner, Emilio Rodrigue, Herbert Rosenfeld, Lois Munro, Wilfred Bion, Beryl Stanford, Hans Thorner, Joan Riviere, Hanna Segal, Adrian Stokes, Roger Money-Kyrle and Elliott Jaques.

The Trust was formally established in February 1955. Its first Chairman was Melanie Klein, who remained in the role until the year of her death in 1960. The other founding Trustees were Wilfred Bion, Paula Heimann, Betty Joseph, Roger Money-Kyrle and Hanna Segal.

In succeeding years, the Chairmen of the Trust were:

  • Wilfred Bion, 1960-67
  • Herbert Rosenfeld, 1968-82
  • Hanna Segal, 1983-90
  • Betty Joseph, 1991-2006
  • Michael Feldman, 2006-